California College Fee Waiver Program for dependents of deceased or disabled veterans
The State of California has authorized the Director of San Bernardino County's Department of Veterans Affairs to administer their College Fee Waiver Program for Veterans Dependents in this county. With the increased fees at California's universities and colleges, this program is a valuable benefit to the county's veterans and their families.
The College Tuition Fee Waiver for Veteran Dependents benefit waives mandatory system-wide tuition and fees at any State of California Community College, California State University, or University of California campus. This program does not cover the expense of books, parking or room and board.
Waiver of tuition applies only at California State Universities, University of California Campuses, and California Community Colleges. Benefits are awarded on an "academic year" basis, and students are required to reapply each year for continued benefits. Note: Nothing shall prevent the above institutions from charging nonresident fees.
Students must meet all requirements of at least one of the following plans:
- PLAN A: The spouse, child or unmarried surviving spouse of a veteran who is totally service-connected disabled, or who has died of service-related causes, may qualify. The veteran must have served during a “qualifying war period”. This program does not have an income limit. A child must be under 27 years of age to receive the fee waiver benefit. The age limit is extended to 30 years of age if the child is a veteran. There are no age limits for a spouse or surviving spouse. *Note: a dependent cannot receive this benefit if they are in receipt of VA Chapter 35 benefits.
- PLAN B: The child (no age limit) of a veteran who has a service-connected disability, or had a service-connected disability at the time of death, or who died of service-related causes, may also qualify for a waiver of fees. A child’s income, which includes the student’s ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME, PLUS THE VALUE OF SUPPORT provided by the parents, cannot exceed the “national poverty level” as calculated by the U.S. Census Bureau. *NOTE: This figure changes annually. To obtain the applicable national poverty level figure, contact one of our offices.
- PLAN C: Any dependent, or surviving spouse who has not remarried, of any member of the California National Guard, who in the line of duty, and while in the active service of the state, was killed, died of a disability resulting from an event that occurred while in the active service of the state, or is permanently disabled as a result of an event that occurred while in the active service of the state. "Active service of the state," for the purposes of this subdivision, means a member of the California National Guard activated pursuant to Section 146 of the Military and Veterans Code. If you or someone you know may be eligible to receive these benefits, contact the San Bernardino County Department of Veterans Affairs.
Where to apply:
If you or someone you know may be eligible to receive these benefits, contact the San Bernardino County Department of Veterans Affairs.
We have full time offices located in San Bernardino, Rancho Cucamonga and Hesperia.
The information presented herein about veterans' programs is in summary form, and is believed to be current and accurate at the time of publication. However, the programs are governed by federal and state laws, and in the event of any conflict between these laws and the information presented herein, the provisions of these laws must control or prevail.